IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is an international non-profit organization, created in 1882, which aims to promote and disseminate knowledge of electrical, electronics, computing, industrial engineering, etc. The IEEE was stablished in 1882 in New York, USA, by leading engineers and Steinmetz, Edison, Maxwell, Ampere and belonged to IEEE people like Marconi, Tesla, Maxwell and all the Nobel Prizes associated with this engineering to the IEEE awarded before its merits. IEEE is financed by memberships, selling magazines, CDs, DVDs, etc to the industry and partly by contributions from members. Each member of the IEEE has many benefits such as discounts on conferences, courses, seminars, workshops, books, sometimes absorbing the organization costs.

The IEEE has about 400,000 members and is organized geographically into 10 regions, Region 9 is Latin America. Normally, each country is a section. Large countries such as Brazil and Mexico have more than 5 sections. Some sections are joined to form a Council. IEEE Chile Section was established in 1962 and is one of the oldest in Latin America. The IEEE Council Cono Sur is formed by Sections Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. The idea is to cooperate and to integrate members and serve better the community.

Technical part is organized by Chilean Chapters in Control, SMC, Communications, Computer, Education, CIS Computational Intelligence, Power Electronics, Power Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Signal Processing, Robotics.

Section Chile organizes the IEEE Chilecon Conference with Chilean Chapters every two years, and it has an agreement with ACCA, AIE and Colegio de Ingenieros de Chile. IEEE Chilean on Chapter Control and SMC have an agreement with ACCA. Chapter Computer has an agreement with the Chilean Computer Society. Chapter Biomedical Engineering has an agreement with Chilean Society of Biomedical Engineering. Chapters usually bring Chile international guests and organize events.

IEEE SMC Chilean Chapter Chair: José Ceroni PUCV
IEEE Chilean Chapter on Control Chair: Gastón Lefranc
Chair of IEEE Chile Section: Rodrigo Palma

IEEE objectives are:

1. To promote, support, encourage and disseminate research, development and applications of electrical, electronics, computer, industrial, biomedical engineering; for the humanity benefit. This objective is accomplished through conferences, seminars, workshops, courses, publication of magazines each specialty (they are 62) and recognizing those who contribute to this development.
2. To support engineering education in universities, creating IEEE student branches, organizing student conferences, scholarships, courses etc.
3. Promotes Continuing Education of Engineers to improve their performance as a professional and as a person. This is done through courses in conferences, tutorials, courses, books, CD, DVD, TV and Internet.

IEEE Web page Chile:


The Chilean Association of Automatic Control (ACCA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the theory and application of machine in all its manifestations, both in automatic control engineering systems and its applications to biology, economics, social sciences, etc. To meet its objectives, ACCA conducts workshops, seminars, courses and Congresses since 1974, thereby creating encounters of people from all areas of the work of the Automatic (Employers, Professionals Companies, Researchers at universities and institutes dedicated to Research, etc.). Automatic Control Association organizes conferences every two years alternating the venue in different places, hosted by a university, with the participation of leading professionals. These congresses is mandatory for those trying to stay ahead in research, new equipment and related automatic, both in Chile and in the rest of the world reference systems.

ACCA has four Technical Committees (Process Control, Robotics and Artificial Intelligence, System Identification and Adaptive Control, and Power Electronics). There  are Technical Committee on Education, one in bioengineering, Applications in Mining , and Computer Applications, performs one or more events (workshops, courses, seminars) every two years, with the ACCA Congress the main event where all the Committees work as partners ACCA, national professionals gather and foreigners who have an interest in this area.

An important feature of its activities is the seriousness, professionalism, and excellence in each one. There is an Editorial Committee in order to decide (based on reports reviewers anonymously and separately), if the work has the appropriate level or needs modifications or does not meet the minimum requirements imposed by ACCA. Another feature is the delivery of the Proceedings of the event, so that participants can more easily follow the exposure of the author (s) and have the opportunity to establish a dialogue and exchange of experiences or simply learn who is performing the exhibitor. A third feature is the international character and prestige they have acquired the events inside and outside the country being considered (in the Latin American context) one of the best level in both its content and its organization. A fourth feature, since 2004, is the publication of the best papers in journals indexed ISI Web of Science and all accepted work are in IEEE Xplore.

ACCA is affiliated with IFAC (International Federation of Automatic Control), with Head Quarter is in Austria. In addition, ACCA is part of the Latin American Committee of Automatics, agreement by which the Latin American Congresses rotate every two years, making them coincide with the National Congresses of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba and Mexico. ACCA has organized Latin American Congress of Automatic in 1988, 1998 and 2010. ACCA maintains agreement with IEEE Chile Section and IEEE Chilean Chapters on Control, SMC, Biomedical Engineering and Power Electronics; agreement with the Association of Electrical and Electronic Industries AIE, and Colegio de Ingenieros de Chile and the Institute of Engineers. ACCA Technical Committees working in conjunction with the IEEE chapters similar specialty, in order to join efforts and optimize resources. ACCA Technical Committees, which have link with the Technical Committee of IFAC.

Board of Director ACCA 2012-2016

Carolina Lagos   – Presidenta ACCA.
Mario Fernández – Vice Presidente 
Gastón Lefranc    – Secretary  
Karina Barbosa    – Treasurer

Marcos Orchard, Ricardo Pérez, Etienne Lefranc,

Past Presidents:
Guillermo González, Aldo Cipriano, Juan L. Hernández, Gastón Lefranc, Felisa Córdova, Eligio Amthauer, Manuel Duarte, Héctor Kaschel, Carlos Muñoz, Marcos Orchard.

Editorial and Programm Committee of ACCA

Presidente:               Manuel Duarte (UChile)
Vicepresidente:        Marcos Orchard (UChile)

Gonzalo Acuña y Felisa Córdova (USACH)
José Ceroni (PUCV) Gastón Lefranc (PUCV)
Aldo Cipriano y José Ricardo Pérez (PUC)
Manuel Duarte (UChile) Daniel Sbarbaro (UConce)
Néstor González y Hernán Villanueva (UCentral)
Héctor Kaschel (USACH) Carlos Muñoz  (UFRO)

Web page of ACCA: